Protected Characteristics

Protected Characteristics1.png


The Equality Act 2010 aims to prevent discrimination. It is illegal to discriminate against people based on nine protected characteristics:

  • age
  • disability
  • gender reassignment
  • marriage and civil partnership
  • pregnancy and maternity
  • race: can refer to colour, nationality, ethnic or national origins
  • religion or belief: can refer to religious or philosophical beliefs, including a lack of belief
  • sex: refers to a person's gender
  • sexual orientation

No form of discrimination is tolerated at Mount Pleasant Primary School, but it is particularly important that children are taught about these protected characteristic groups and the importance of showing respect to people within these groups. We address this in several ways, such as through our carefully timetabled assemblies that address respect and tolerance. We also ensure that our curriculum is planned and delivered in order that children learn about these protected characteristics in an age-appropriate manner.

Please see our PSHE website page and the PSHE overview which shows the different PSHE topics that include teaching of these protected characteristics across the school. These are mainly taight through the Valuing Differences, Being My Best and Growing and Changing untis of work. 

In summary, these are the areas within our PSHE curriculum, as well as Religious Education that you will find the protected characteristics taught:

Protected Characteristics Table.png